Patience

17 03 2011

I have to keep reminding myself that patience is much needed when embarking upon such a time of changes in my life. It can be really easy to panic and let things spiral out of control just because I am impatient to get on to the next part of my life without doing all the small things and prep work that make that change possible. I wish I could snap my fingers and find myself all moved into the new apartment without all the small tasks and exertions that make that move possible but I know that I need to do the work to be able to enjoy the things that are coming. It will take patience to get to the new apartment and the next phase but I assume that all the hard work will make it more meaningful to me.

I need to be reminded that it takes patience to get better after being sick, even if I get sick the week before a giant move.

I need to be reminded that it takes patience to pack entire lives into boxes and arrange for those boxes to be transported across state lines.

I need to be reminded that it takes patience to find furniture for a new home when all you own are 200 shoes and a mattress.

I need to be reminded that it takes patience to deal with a boyfriend who is more interested in drinking beer and playing video games and grilling our with old college buddies rather than looking at furnishings for the house, making decisions about the future and easing the worries of the tired, sick girlfriend who has done all of the organizing, packing and planning to date.

I need to be reminded that all things come in stages and that patience is required to be dealt with the stages and changes that will come.

I need to be reminded to have patience.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

