Gone But Not Forgotten

17 12 2010

Today is the 5 year anniversary of my grandfather’s death.

I have had a terrible day where I have felt on the verge of tears every second. I struggled through a long work day and felt relief and grief swallow me as soon as I exited the work building. This year I had promised myself to focus more on the positive things and less on the sad things that have marked this time of year for me but I find it hard to be positive on this sad day when I lost one of my favorite people in the world.

My grandfather was an amazing man. He loved me unconditionally. He attended every childhood play, award ceremony, graduation, birthday, Christmas and occasion…he celebrated milestones with me and made my childhood memorable and fairytale like. As his only granddaughter, he had a special place for me in his big heart and I felt nurtured and cared for as I grew up in the spotlight of his love. Losing him has been one of the worst things that has ever happened to me…and I will never let December 17th pass without thinking of how he touched my life.

So today I remember a man who helped shape me as a better person and who touched my life for 20 years with his love, attention, support and devotion. I hope he’s happy wherever he is and that he knows that I still cry on the day we lost him.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

