Finding the Balance

1 11 2010

My life has been fabulous the last couple months, filled with wonderful experiences, people and memories that have made me feel more stable and fulfilled than I have in past years. It has been a long time coming for me to feel so balanced and satisfied with who I am, what I am doing and where I am in my life…perhaps this is the balance that comes with graduating from college, getting a decent job and finding the beginnings of personal happiness with newfound maturity.

Unfortunately, a slew of troublesome events have plagued me in the past month and I have been trying to reconcile them with the new peace I had been teased with in the months previous. I have felt so positive and happy…it’s hard to be teased with that and then bombarded with issues from left and right. I think that the car issues, the stress about D finding an electrical engineering job, GRE decisions, family issues, etc have all compounded and worn me down to a point where the balance has tipped and my mind cannot comprehend positivity.

In lieu of positivity, I have decided to battle the tipping and sliding balance with small things that bring me joy and taking one day (even if it needs to be hour by hour) at a time to make the pieces more manageable.

I love Christmas and the holidays because they bring me happiness, peace and this wonderment that came so naturally as a child when I saw the Christmas magic and slowly faded as an adult. I love the decorations, music, traditions and family events that come with Christmas…so here is my list of things that I am looking forward to this winter:

+Ice skating

+Baking and decorating gingerbread houses

+Drinking hot cocoa

+Crackling fires

+Christmas music (ok I confess that I have been listening to this for 2 weeks already)

+Soy eggnog

+Christmas stockings

+Snowflakes

+Christmas Midnight Mass

+Decorating the Christmas tree

+Wrapping presents for people I love

+12 Bars of Xmas (maybe)

+Watching White Christmas and The Nutcracker

+Sledding

+Standing in a window and watching the snow fall

+Curling up with a good book in front of a roaring fire and reading for hours

+Seeing family

+Celebrating that cool dude’s (Jesus) bday

 

What are you looking forward to for Christmas and the holiday season?

Do you find that small things can help balance the big things that can go wrong in your life if you assign enough importance to them?

How do you handle stress, grief and despair in your life?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

