That Should Be Me

20 05 2010

“That should be me” seems to be running through my head a lot these days.

When it comes to careers, grad school, getting engaged, getting married, getting pregnant, getting a new car, getting a house…blah blah blah. I know this sounds really immature and a little self-centered but I can’t help but be a little baffled with myself when I see all my friends doing grown-up things and accomplishing all the things that I thought I would have accomplished at the age of almost 25. I don’t want to hit a quarter of a century with nothing accomplished that was on my “list of things to do before I am really old and the fun is gone”. Ok just kidding about that last part.

I guess what I am saying is that I am finding myself in a rut. I don’t want to settle. I don’t want to sit back and wait for things to happen to me because I think that life is going to hand me what I want. I know that in order to get the things I want….I am going to need to be aggressive, smart, proactive and thoughtful in the choices I make. I am making a bucket list and I am going to check things off. I don’t want to look back at 30 and go “what the heck was I thinking back at 25?” so I am going to make the list I should have made at 20 and start working on making my life what I want (and dreamed) it to be.

Also…I downloaded lots of songs by David Guetta, Justin Bieber (gasp, I know), 3oh3, Death Cab for Cutie, MCS, Lonely Island and other obnoxious artists to play at work because it keeps me entertained while I sit there typing away…btw I am pretty sure I annoy all the people within my cubicle area with my “loud” typing. I personally prefer to say that I “type with purpose” instead of saying that I “clack clack” for 8 hours a day.

Off to download more annoying music that will surely earn me black stripes with my music gurus and finish packing my lunch for tomorrow, French braiding my epic long hair (it has never been this long and it is annoying me…cannot wait to chop it all off…and the braids make it wicked cool and crimpy when I braid it wet and take it out the next morning) and watching some Buffy.

Note: small child told me my nails were hot when I was in the bathroom at Target washing my hands. That was hilarious.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

