Don’t Live Just to Exist

18 04 2010

I have been on auto-pilot for a few months now…just trying to get everything done post-graduation, get a job, find a living situation, adjust to my ever-changing needs and employment and figure out a game plan for the future. I feel so lost without classes and semesters looming in front of me as a student (being a student is all I feel I know how to do). Part of me wants to go back to grad school because ultimately I think I need higher education to be successful in my major and I feel like school is my comfort zone.

My dad has been encouraging me to get out of my comfort zone and pursue the job that I want because it wont come to me if I don’t proactively seek it out. I know that it’s important to seek out a job that is related to my degree and that it won’t just fall in my lap but it’s so easy to get some office job and just punch a keyboard all day rather than go out and start at the bottom of the proverbial totem pole to get moving on my career.

I saw a friend of mine who quoted “don’t live just to exist” and it made me think that I had been living just to exist the past few months…I have not been enjoying being alive, blessed, loved and cared for. I have not been reveling in the blessings I have received in my life in terms of family, friends, jobs, intelligence, success, etc. and it’s time for me to wake up and get back to savoring life and all the opportunities I have had handed to me.

Starting today, I am going to savor life and stop living just to get through each day. Join me in finding something to live for, something beyond just existing so that when you’re old and grey, you can look back and say “I really lived”.

Actions

Information

One response

19 04 2010
Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA

Fantastic post 🙂 That is a great quote to live by. I often have to remind myself of the same thing! Esp. the work/life balance!

Leave a Reply

