Lollapalooza 2010

6 04 2010

I am really disappointed with Lolla’s lineup this year as it doesn’t fulfill any of my fantasies of awesome new bands rocking out in Chicago’s Grant Park…it just makes me sad that the headliners are Soundgarden, Green Day and Lady Gaga…

I first went to Lollapalooza in 2006 when the headliners were Kanye West, Deathcab for Cutie and the Red Hot Chili Peppers. I was 20 years old…and I went with my besties D and Brian. We got tickets, packed and headed out for Chicago from Mankato at 2 in the morning…D and Brian driving in the front and myself sleeping in the backseat next to a giant cooler. I was excited….this was the first trip D and I had taken going away and I was stoked to see the headliners and smaller bands like Blue October, The Raconteurs, The Flaming Lips, the Shins, Common, Matisyahu, Panic at the Disco, Gnarls Barkley, 30 Seconds to Mars and Lady Sovereign. There were plenty of bands to discover and rock out to and there were tons of great people there. I had no problem standing in the same spot all day waiting for RHCP so I could have a good view. I had no problem staying at the Travelodge (which was nicer than it sounds and conveniently like 4 blocks away). I had no problem staying dehydrated all day so I never had to pee and leave my spot. I had a blast…and told my friend group about it and they went the next two years (I couldn’t afford it)…I am just so glad that I went that first year and had a great experience.

I was really looking forward to going this year (dependent on headliners) but the headliners suck. I like Lady Gaga but don’t love her live and the other 2 headliners make me sad…and so far none of the smaller bands make me excited so I don’t think Lolla is happening this year 😦

I guess that money and time will have to go somewhere else this summer!

Here’s to 2011 having amazing bands, big and small, to rock the stage!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

