New Moon Madness

21 03 2010

Soooo…I had this truly interesting experience with amazon this weekend. I adore buying movies and books off amazon.com because I rarely feed the need to buy something brand spanking new when I find that gently used books and DVDs are just as great for a fraction of the price! The last few months have seen a few additions to my DVD collection and bookshelf with Ruth Reichl’s Garlic and Sapphires, Nigel Slater’s Eating for England, Bill Buford’s Heat: An Amateur’s Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany; and DVDs Marie Antoinette, The Fountain, Evita, The Time Traveler’s Wife, New Moon, The Painted Veil; and the boyfriend just bought us the Super Mario Brothers game for Wii. Technology cup runneth over. I really thought that New Moon was going to be this great experience preordering through amazon because when I pre ordered the 6th Harry Potter book a few years ago it was shipped promptly to me arriving very close to the actual release date! I was disappointed this year when the DVD for New Moon decided to have a shipping date two days after it was released. . .

I called UPS and they said that due to their contract, they could not deliver the DVD to me on Saturday (even though the movie had been released in stores and I had paid for the shipping and it had arrived in SuFu already) and I had to wait til Monday. I was not pleased…I went to Walmart and bought the extended scenes version and happily watched Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Zombieland and New Moon yesterday on my day off from work 🙂 It was a happy day.

Note to self: pre ordering movies online is not as cool as I thought….it doesn’t arrive on time and it sucks paying for shipping when I can drive five minutes and get it at Walmart or Target (since Walmart grosses me out) without the hassle, waiting and extra fees.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

