Lolita

6 02 2010

I just started re-reading an old favorite of mine…Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. I read this years ago and fell in love with Humbert Humbert and little Lolita so it was a joy to reread this now that my time has been freed from school schedules. Books keep me alive and interested and inspired when I don’t have specific intellectual or learning based goals in other parts of my life…so with class being over, the books on my “want-to-read” list have moved to the top of my list of hobbies along with blogging, writing, researching recipes, facebooking, reading blogs on iGoogle and trying to get my stuff for work together.

Lolita is only one of the three books that I am currently reading since I recently finished Heat by Bill Buford. My other current reads are re-reading We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates (love this book), reading Garlic and Sapphires by Ruth Reichl and Eating for England by Nigel Slater (both are foodie books…a personal guilty indulgence of mine). I rarely read one book at a time (probably a leftover of multi-tasking during school where I read 1,000 pages and multiple books each week) and find it refreshing to have different options of books to go to when I need inspiration or something witty or funny or intellectually stimulating.

What kind of books do you enjoy reading? Do you read one book at a time or more? What are you reading right now?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

