Burning the Fat…

20 01 2010

We burn the fat off of our souls.

I watched Jarhead tonight and I was struck by that quote because they attributed to Hemingway.

I love it.

We rid ourselves of the excess of our souls. I want to burn the fat off my soul. I want to cleanse myself with fire. I want to burn down til just the bare bones of my beautiful existence remains. I want to see what remains when all the unnecessary has turned to crumbling ash and left behind only that which matters.

To look in the mirror and see only the structure of what matters, darkened by ash, smudged by charcoal, streaked by flame…that is what I aspire to.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

