What good would wings be…

13 01 2010

…if you couldn’t feel the wind on your face?

This post is about gratitude and appreciation…the appreciation for the good things in my life as opposed to the things that I allow to drag me down. Sometimes, it’s easy to fall into a rut of self pity where I feel bad for myself and wish I had an easier life; the reality is that I am blessed with a life of ease and comfort that I need to acknowledge, cherish and respect. There are countless others in the world that do not have the blessings, opportunities or comforts that I do and I need to look at my life with a new eye.

That line is from City of Angels (an old favorite that I rediscovered on Netflix) and it resonated nicely with me as I contemplated the blessings I have…I need to be happy with what I have and not yearn for things that I don’t need or really want deep down. I need to be satisfied….

I am appreciative for family. I have an amazing father who adopted me as an infant from South Korea, raised me as his own and has loved me from the day he saw me. I am blessed to have a generous, loving, compassionate, intelligent father who has done his best to protect, teach and love me for the past 24 years. I also have D’s parents who are like second parents to me. I get to spend holidays and other times with them, experiencing a home life and family life that I didn’t get to as a child.

My friends are blessings. I’ve said it before and I will say it again….my friends have gotten me through some of the worst times in my life and contributed to the best times of my life, as well. I am blessed to have them in my life! Chili Pepper, Doom, Uppers, Dizzle, the gays, Ogre, Stun Gun, Reeder, Chrz, Heiny, Dana, Cory and others have all contributed to my well being and I am so glad they are in my life!

I have a college degree….it took years and it was a challenge, but I had the opportunity to have an education and learn many important lessons. I am blessed with that knowledge and experience and even though I took it for granted as a young adult, I recognize and appreciate the blessing that is my degree.

I have God…enough said…He is there for me when I feel the most alone and abandoned.

The love of my life is here and supportive of me…he has loved and cherished me for the past 5 years and I look forward to countless more in the future 🙂 I love you, D.

My health. My strength. My faith. My joy. My passion for life and learning and books and the ability to feel emotion.

I need to be happy with the life I have and stop wishing for a different one. Everyone is given the life they have at a certain time for a reason and I need to wait for that reason to become apparent to me rather than look around for something else all the time.

Here is to learning the lesson of being happy with my own two feet instead of wishing for wings….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

