The End of the Tunnel

14 12 2009

The last few weeks have been hectic…this is quite possibly one of the grandest understatements I have ever uttered on this blog. The last few weeks (in reality) were filled with all the work of the last 4.5 years coming together so I could graduate from MSU with a BA in English Literature and a minor in Linguistics. The last few weeks were the culmination of endless, sleepless nights of burning eyes, tears, exhaustion and a lot of primal screaming into one of my unused pillows. I put everything I had left into the last few weeks…and I am done. It took me 4.5 years and a lot of heartache and exhaustion, but I graduated.

This journey started six years ago when I was 17 years old and on my way to college. I had dropped out of Drake University (where I had been accepted for the International Business Law (pre-professional law) program because I was too scared to go 8 hours away from home and even though I had scholarships (Concordia gave me $15000) to other schools, they were all full by the time I chickened out switched my plans. I had applied to 5-8 schools, made it in them all thanks to 9 AP classes in high school, a laundry list of extracurriculars and an awesome ACT score hard work and then ended up at MSU…which I had never visited and only applied because I had attended hockey tournaments down there. I never knew that I would get my entire education there and I would never move on…

I began in International Business Law at MSU in 2003. I turned 18 shortly after moving into the dorms, made a ton of friends, got nominated floor president and RHA representative and filled my days with homework and class. I had my first alcoholic beverage the first weekend of college. I survived the Homecoming Riots in Campusview (where I was entirely too close to a burning car). I grew up…it was a great first year, but it was filled with its own unique hardships as I adjusted to new classes, new friends, new surroundings and a chance to start fresh.

The next few years were filled with a lot of heartache, love, laughter and growing up…I met the man I fell in love with and will someday probably marry, I made the best friends who helped me grow into myself and stop carrying around so much pain, I switched from Business Law to English Literature and I figured out what I wanted in life. I also took 1.5 years off to get healthy after a particularly bad bout with my ED…oh, ana/mia how you have tormented me.

I look back at the end of the road filled with happiness at the good memories…the experiences I will take away that I never could replace or exchange. The road to this point in my life was long but oh so worth it. College was rewarding…it was challenging…it was breathtakingly precious in that it gave me a sense of identity, it helped me define who I am, what I want out of life and where I am headed next. . .

Stay tuned to see where life leads me next…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

